Tamil people are the first who invented nine planet and made it to built it in temple named Navagraha . The Navagraha temples in Tamil Nadu are a cluster of Navagraha Temples dating from the Chola dynasty near Kumbakonam in Tamil Nadu. As per Hindu legend, Sage Kalava was suffering from serious ailments along with leprosy. He prayed to the Navagrahas, the nine planet deities. The planets were pleased by his devotion and offered cure to the sage. Brahma, the Hindu god of creation, was angered as he felt that the planets have no powers to provide boons to humans. He cursed the nine planets to suffer from leprosy and were sent down to earth in Vellerukku Vanam, the white wild flower jungle – the modern time Suryanar Kovil. The planets prayed to Shiva to relieve them off the curse. Shiva appeared to them and said that the place belonged to them and they would have to grace the devotees worshipping them from the place. Each temple is located in a different village, and is considered an abode of one of the Navagrahas. However, eight among these temples are dedicated to Shiva. The Surya temple is the only one dedicated to the Graham. In fact, it is dedicated entirely to the worship of the Sun-God and the other navagrahas, the former being the object of worship as the principal deity and the latter as attendant deities. It was built around the 11th or 12th century. The other temples were built earlier, ranging back to 7th-9th century.
Surya Navagrahastalam — Sooriyanar Kovil (Thanjavur District)
Chandra Navagrahastalam — Thingalur (Thanjavur District)
Angaarakan Navagrahastalam — Vaitheeswaran Kovil (Nagapattinam District)
Budha Navagrahastalam — Thiruvenkadu (Nagapattinam District)
Guru Navagrahastalam — Thittai (Thiruvarur District)
Sukra Navagrahastalam — Kanjanur (Thanjavur District)
Shani Navagrahastalam — Thirunallar (Karaikal)
Raahu Navagrahastalam — Thirunageswaram (Thanjavur District)
Ketu Navagrahastalam — Keezhperumpallam (Nagapattinam District)
Angineeshwar temple — Birth place of Lord Sanieeswarar and Lord Yematharmar, Kodiyalur, Thirumeyachur, Thiruvarur District.

Navagraha Temples in Chennai Kundrathur

There is a similar cluster of Navagraha temples in Chennai, erstwhile Thondai Nadu in and around Kundrathur.

Agatheeswarar Temple – Suryan – Kolapakkkam
Somanaadheeswarar Temple – Chandran – Somangalam
Vaidheeswaran Temple – Angaragan – Poovirundhavalli( Poondhamalli)
Sundareswarar Temple – Budhan – Kovur
Ramanaadheeswarar Temple – Guru – Porur
Velleeswarar Temple – Sukran – Mangadu
Agatheeswarar Temple – Shaneeswaran – Pozhichalur
Neelakandeswarar Temple – Kethu – Gerugambakkam
Nageshwarar Temple – Rahu – Kundratthur
this was founded by thiyagaraja gurukkal and bhuvaneshwari and there family published to people through small sized book of Navagraha stalam puranam in Chennai.

There is a separate set of Navagraha temples which are dedicated to Lord Vishnu in Tiruchendur-Tirunelveli route called as Nava_Tirupathi.

Srivaikuntanathan Permual Temple — Suryan
Vijayaasana Perumal Temple — Chandran
Vaithamanidhi Perumal Temple — Sevvai
ThiruPulingudi Perumal Temple — Budhan
AlwarThirunagari Temple — Gurubhagawan
Makara Nedunkuzhai Kannan Temple — Sukran
Srinivasa Perumal Temple — Shaniswaran
Irattai Thiruppathy, Aravindalochanar — Raghu
Irattai Thiruppathy, Devapiran — Kedhu